Head-to-head evidence
Quetiapine (Seroquel) vs Risperidone (Risvan)
Same mechanism, same race: design-graded trial evidence for both assets, with the grading rationale shown. Grades describe the quality of the evidence, never the merits of either security.
Schizophrenia
Shared mechanism: Dopamine D2 and serotonin 5-HT2A receptors (antagonist) · full Schizophrenia pipeline
Quetiapine (Seroquel)
Marketed by Cheplapharm Arzneimittel GmbH and partners
NCT00305422 · Phase 3 · completed
The study was randomized and double-blinded with an active risperidone comparator, but its small sample of 45 participants limits the strength of the evidence. The primary comparison was not reported, and the primary focus included cognitive and functional brain-activation measures rather than a clearly specified hard clinical endpoint.
Next expected readout: June 2028 · NCT05603104 (registry estimate)
Risperidone (Risvan)
Marketed by Laboratorios Farmacéuticos Rovi, S.A.
NCT03160521 · Phase 3 · completed
The study randomized 438 participants to two risperidone doses or placebo under triple masking, with 390 participants included in the reported primary efficacy analysis. The clinical primary endpoint was the change in PANSS total score, reported as -24.6 and -24.7 points with risperidone versus -11.0 with placebo, but statistical significance for this primary comparison is not stated, so the result remains unclear.
Next expected readout: December 2027 · NCT07047651 (registry estimate)
The full competitive landscape for each asset (every same-race competitor with aligned evidence, sortable) is on the asset pages: Quetiapine (Seroquel)'s landscape · Risperidone (Risvan)'s landscape