Head-to-head evidence

Iloperidone (PD psychosis use) vs Risperidone (Risvan)

Same mechanism, same race: design-graded trial evidence for both assets, with the grading rationale shown. Grades describe the quality of the evidence, never the merits of either security.

Schizophrenia

Shared mechanism: Dopamine D2 and serotonin 5-HT2A receptors (antagonist) · full Schizophrenia pipeline

Iloperidone (PD psychosis use) · Fanapt

Marketed by Vanda Pharmaceuticals

Approved in Schizophreniasmall molecule
Partial signal

NCT00254202 · Phase 3 · completed

The trial was randomized and quadruple-blind, included both placebo and active control groups, and enrolled 593 participants. Its primary clinical symptom endpoint was PANSS-T change, with mean changes of -12.0 for iloperidone versus -7.1 for placebo, but statistical significance of the comparison is not reported, so the result remains unclear.

Next expected readout: November 2027 · NCT06961968 (registry estimate)

Unlock with Research ↗

Risperidone (Risvan)

Marketed by Laboratorios Farmacéuticos Rovi, S.A.

Approved in Schizophreniasmall molecule
Partial signal

NCT03160521 · Phase 3 · completed

The study randomized 438 participants to two risperidone doses or placebo under triple masking, with 390 participants included in the reported primary efficacy analysis. The clinical primary endpoint was the change in PANSS total score, reported as -24.6 and -24.7 points with risperidone versus -11.0 with placebo, but statistical significance for this primary comparison is not stated, so the result remains unclear.

Next expected readout: December 2027 · NCT07047651 (registry estimate)

Unlock with Research ↗

The full competitive landscape for each asset (every same-race competitor with aligned evidence, sortable) is on the asset pages: Iloperidone (PD psychosis use)'s landscape · Risperidone (Risvan)'s landscape